Chaudhary Charan Singh and Others Conferred Bharat Ratna

Former Indian Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh, along with P. V. Narasimha Rao and M. S. Swaminathan, to receive Bharat Ratna. Their contributions to farming, economic liberalization, and agriculture recognized. Positive reactions from political leaders.

Former Prime Minister of the country, Chaudhary Charan Singh, will be conferred the Bharat Ratna, the country’s highest civilian honour. The announcement of this prestigious award was made by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday. Chaudhary Charan Singh, who served as India’s prime minister from July 28, 1979, till January 14, 1980, was instrumental in championing the cause of the farmers and addressing their concerns. This recognition of his contribution to the welfare of the farmers is significant as it highlights the government’s commitment to uplifting the agricultural sector.

Recognition for P. V. Narasimha Rao and M. S. Swaminathan

Alongside Chaudhary Charan Singh, former Prime Minister P. V. Narasimha Rao and agricultural scientist M. S. Swaminathan will also be awarded the Bharat Ratna. P. V. Narasimha Rao is acknowledged for his pivotal role in economic liberalization, which helped transform India’s economy in the early 1990s. M. S. Swaminathan, often referred to as the father of the Green Revolution in India, played an instrumental role in achieving self-reliance in agriculture during challenging times. These honours recognize the significant contributions made by these individuals to the progress and development of the nation.

Reactions and Welcome

The announcement of the Bharat Ratna awards has garnered positive responses from various political leaders. Congress leader Sonia Gandhi welcomed the recognition given to both P. V. Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, acknowledging their achievements and contributions as former prime ministers. Jayant Chaudhary, the leader of the Rashtriya Lok Dal, expressed satisfaction with Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s decision to confer the Bharat Ratna on these deserving individuals. The acknowledgment of their achievements emphasizes the importance of their work in shaping India’s future.


The conferral of the Bharat Ratna on Chaudhary Charan Singh, P. V. Narasimha Rao, and M. S. Swaminathan reflects the recognition and appreciation of their contributions to the nation. This gesture by the government highlights the significance of their work in addressing crucial issues such as the welfare of farmers and the economic growth of the country. The Bharat Ratna awards serve as a reminder of the diverse talents and achievements of individuals who have played a significant role in shaping India’s progress.

  • Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian honour, to be conferred upon Chaudhary Charan Singh, P. V. Narasimha Rao, and M. S. Swaminathan
  • Chaudhary Charan Singh, former Prime Minister, recognized for his contributions to the welfare of farmers
  • P. V. Narasimha Rao acknowledged for his role in economic liberalization
  • M. S. Swaminathan honored for his contribution to achieving self-reliance in agriculture
  • Positive reactions from political leaders, including Sonia Gandhi and Jayant Chaudhary

“The acknowledgment of their achievements emphasizes the importance of their work in shaping India’s future.” – Congress leader Sonia Gandhi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *